Obituary New Album Documentary (Part One)

Florida death metal band Obituary will release their eponymous album tomorrow, on March 17, via Relapse Records. Recorded at the band’s home studio in Tampa, FL, their 10th album sees the group in top form. In the video above, musicians Trever Strnad ( The Black Dahlia Murder), Paul Mazziotta & Matt Skarajew (INVERLOCH | Disembowelment), John McEntee (Incantation), Gus Rios (Gruesome), Jeremy Wagner (Broken Hope), Charles Elliot ( Abysmal Dawn), Chase Mason (Gatecreeper), Steffen Kummerer (Obscura), Lenny Bruce (DUST BOLT) and Joel Grind (Toxic Holocaust) talk about Obituary’s new album.

Vocalist John Tardy

“When writing records the song titles and album titles are always the last things on our minds. We know that the songs themselves are the most important thing, so with this our 10th studio album and nearly three decades as a band, we thought it was the perfect time for a self-titled release. It always helps to have a killer album cover so we worked with Andreas Marschall, gave him our ideas and thoughts and asked him to break out the big guns to create an epic logo and he delivered like he always has for Obituary.”

“We could not be any more excited about this new album,” the band collectively said. “We had a blast writing and recording it and having Ken [Andrews, guitar] and Terry [Butler, bass] as part of the writing process was a very cool experience for all of us. We really took our time with the writing process of these new songs, recording riffs and ideas as we went along and recording them as rough mixes then listening back and making necessary changes to help mold them into the songs that we are extremely proud of.”









Order on


1. Brave
2. Sentence Day
3. Lesson in Vengeance
4. End It Now
5. Kneel Before Me
6. It Lives
7. Betrayed
8. Turned to Stone
9. Straight to Hell
10. Ten Thousand Ways to Die