Whitney ‘Light Upon The Lake: Demo Recordings’ Vinyl Release Announced, LP

Whitney – Light Upon The Lake: Demo Recordings
2017 Secretly Canadian Pressing on Black Vinyl

Chicago indie band Whitney will be releasing their Light Upon The Lake: Demo Recordings album next month. The upcoming LP includes the earliest incarnations of their 2016 debut alongside a cover of a band favorite  by Alan Toussaint, and an unreleased track called “You and Me.”


Street Date: 11/10/17

Light Upon The Lake, the debut from Whitney, was born from early-morning songwriting sessions during one of the most brutal winters in Chicago’s history. Vocalist/drummer Julien Ehrlich and guitarist Max Kakacek began writing unflinching, honest songs about everything from breakups to the passing of Ehrlich’s grandfather. The pair leaned on one another for both honest critique and a sounding board for working through their newly-discovered truths. The brief, intense period of creativity for the band yielded Light Upon The Lake’s exceptional, unfussy combination of soul, breezy Sixties/Seventies rock, and somber heartbreak woven together by hopeful, golden threads. After critical acclaim and nearly nonstop touring since the album’s 2016 release, Ehrlich and Kakacek are going back to their roots – for the first time, the full demos from Light Upon The Lake will be made available. After a whirlwind year following the debut, the demos offer a way for listeners to get a glimpse into the very beginning of Whitney’s sound.

“After almost two years of non-stop touring, we decided we wanted to close the chapter on Light Upon The Lake by releasing the songs in their earliest incarnations alongside a cover of a band favorite by Alan Toussaint, and an unreleased track called ‘You and Me.’ We’re looking towards LP2 as we finish out the year on the road.” – Love, Max and Julien


1. No Woman (Demo)
2. The Falls (Demo)
3. Golden Days (Demo)
4. Dave’s Song (Demo)
5. You and Me (Demo) 02:55
6. No Matter Where We Go (Demo)
7. On My Own (Demo)
8. Polly (Demo)
9. Follow (Demo)
10. Southern Nights (Alan Toussaint cover)