The Smiths: ‘The Queen is Dead’ Deluxe Reissue Details — Listen!

The Smiths will release a deluxe reissue of their 1986 album The Queen is Dead. Widely considered to be both The Smiths’ finest work and one of the great albums in history, The Queen Is Dead has cast a significant influence over subsequent generations since it was first released. Both the two-disc set and the 3 CD/DVD box will be available October 20th via Warner Brothers Records. Along with the remastered tracks and bonus material, the set also includes the band’s first take of “There is a Light That Never Goes Out”, located above.

The deluxe 3CD / 1 DVD box set features the 2017 master of the album; additional recordings / demos, b-sides and alternative versions; the Live In Boston album recorded at the Great Woods Center For The Performing Arts on 5th August 1986; and a DVD featuring the 2017 master of album in 96kHz / 24-bit PCM stereo and ‘The Queen Is Dead – A Film By Derek Jarman’.

“You cannot continue to record and simply hope that your audience will approve, or that average critics will approve, or that radio will approve,” says vocalist Morrissey. “You progress only when you wonder if an abnormally scientific genius would approve – and this is the leap The Smiths took with The Queen Is Dead.”

The Queen is Dead spent twenty-two weeks on the UK Albums Chart, peaking at number two. In North America, it reached number 28 in Canada on the RPM 100 album chart and number 70 on the Billboard 200 chart, and was certified Gold by the RIAA in late 1990. It has sold consistently well ever since and has received unanimous critical acclaim, with NME listing it as the greatest album of all time in 2013.

Disc 1
01 The Queen is Dead (2017 Master)
02 Frankly, Mr. Shankly (2017 Master)
03 I know it’s Over (2017 Master)
04 Never Had No One Ever (2017 Master)
05 Cemetery Gates (2017 Master)
06 Bigmouth Strikes Again (2017 Master)
07 The Boy With the Thorn in His Side (2017 Master)
08 Vicar in a Tutu (2017 Master)
09 There is a Light That Never Goes Out (2017 Master)
10 Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others (2017 Master)

Disc 2
01 The Queen is Dead (Full Version)
02 Frankly, Mr. Shankly (Demo)
03 I know it’s Over (Demo)
04 Never Had No One Ever (Demo)
05 Cemetery Gates (Demo)
06 Bigmouth Strikes Again (Demo)
07 Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others (Demo)
08 The Boy With the Thorn in His Side (Demo Mix)
09 There is a Light That Never Goes Out (Take 1)
10 Rubber Ring (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]
11 Asleep (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]
12 Money Changes Everything (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]
13 Unloveable (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]

Disc 3 — Live in Boston
01 How Soon Is Now?
02 Hand In Glove
03 I Want The One I Cant Have
04 Never Had No One Ever
05 Stretch Out And Wait
06 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
07 Cemetry Gates
08 Rubber Ring/What She Said/Rubber Ring
09 Is It Really So Strange?
10 There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
11 That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore
12 The Queen Is Dead
13 I Know It’s Over