Elliott Smith: Never-Before-Seen Footage of 2000 Fuji Rock Festival Performance

Never-before-seen video of an Elliott Smith performance has just surfaced online. You can watch Smith’s entire performance at Japan’s Fuji Rock Festival via the embedded clip above. Kevin Moyer, producer of the Elliot Smith documentary Heaven Adores You, uploaded the footage.

Moyer commented:

“When I was working on the documentary ‘Heaven Adores You’ many friends and fans were gracious enough to share their keepsakes with us – memories, videos, pictures and etc. During the production, one of Elliott’s close friends and collaborators gave us an old VHS tape that had a performance that they had acquired and kept for a keepsake. I had it transferred from VHS tape and digitized for potential inclusion in the Heaven Adores You project, but it never made the final cut. With the blessing of the tape owner I am uploading the full performance here. This seems to be previously unreleased footage. I hope you enjoy it.”

DATE: 7/28/2000
Fuji Rock @ Naeba Ski Resort, Niigata, Japan


– Ballad of Big Nothing
– Independence Day
– Junk Bond Trader
– Son of Sam
– Everything Means Nothing to Me
– Amity
– Stupidity Tries
– Mr. Good Morning
– Sweet Adeline
– In the Lost & Found
– LA
– A Question Mark
– Can’t Make a Sound
– Bled White
– Color Bars
– Cupid’s Trick
– 2:45 AM

Elliott’s band includes:
Scott McPherson on drums, Sam Coomes on bass, and Aaron Embry on keys and additional guitar.